Fanatics - Customized NFL Gear

Sunday, June 2, 2013

Wrong. Just Wrong.

Roy Hibbert, an emerging NBA star on both the offensive and defensive ends of the court, now needs to work on his all-around game and that should start with knowing some of the facts.

While Hibbert sat at the NBA's version of the highest pulpit - the globally televised official post-game media news conference table - he decided to use what can be referred to as an immature reference using a "gay/lesbian" slur in a lengthy response to a question, while earlier denouncing the media for neglecting to recognize the Indiana Pacers team because of its lack of nationally televised games or national print/electronic media attention devoted to attending Pacers games throughout the year.

The whole fiasco was in response to a question about why he wasn't thought of more highly and voted upon more frequently for NBA Defensive Player of the Year.

So, in essence, Hibbert was far too ... well ... DEFENSIVE!

Truth be told, Hibbert received more support from the media than he did from the NBA's head coaches when you compare the voting for the NBA Defensive Player of the Year to that of the NBA's All-Defensive first and second place teams.

In the media voting, Hibbert earned 3-5-6  or 14 selections from some 120 media members who regularly cover the league (note: 3 first place votes; 5 second place and 6 third place). That was good enough to rank 10th in the voting by media, well behind winner Marc Gasol (Small market Memphis).

In a more "in-depth" analysis, one might look to the NBA's All-Defensive team voting for some perspective.  In that voting - conducted by the league, administered by an independent accounting firm but decided by the head coaches of the 30 NBA teams, Hibbert garnered 2 of 29 first team votes but totaled only six voting "points," meaning he received only support from two other coaches in the league, both for the second team. That means, he impressed 4 coaches, not including Indiana's Frank Vogel.

The official NBA release reads:

The voting panel consisted of the NBA's 30 head coaches, who were asked to select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

The results for the 2012-13 NBA All-Defensive Teams balloting. The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP:


Forward LeBron James, Miami 25 2 52
Forward Serge Ibaka, Oklahoma City 17 12 46
Center Tyson Chandler, New York 9 6 24
Center Joakim Noah, Chicago 8 8 24
Guard Tony Allen, Memphis 25 3 53
Guard Chris Paul, L.A. Clippers 15 7 37


Forward Tim Duncan, San Antonio 3 14 20
Forward Paul George, Indiana 7 13 27
Center Marc Gasol, Memphis 5 2 12
Guard Avery Bradley, Boston 10 5 25
Guard Mike Conley, Memphis 4 11 19

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses):

Andre Iguodala, Denver, 16 (2); Larry Sanders, Milwaukee, 16 (4); Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City, 15 (2); Luol Deng, Chicago, 11 (1); Dwight Howard, L.A. Lakers, 9 (3); Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers (6 (1); Roy Hibbert, Indiana, 6 (2); Kenneth Faried, Denver, 4 (1); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 4 (1); Shane Battier, Miami, 2; Nicolas Batum, Portland, 2 (1); Corey Brewer, Denver, 2; George Hill, Indiana, 2; Mike James, Dallas, 2 (1); Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio, 2, (1); Tony Parker, San Antonio, 2 (1); Dwyane Wade, Miami, 2; Metta World Peace, L.A. Lakers, 2 (1); Eric Bledsoe, L.A. Clippers, 1; Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City, 1; Jrue Holiday, Philadelphia, 1; Andrei Kirilenko, Minnesota, 1; Iman Shumpert, New York, 1; David West, Indiana, 1.

No comments: